top of page

Geocaching Family Night

Geocaching- something I've always wanted to try but it's just too hot in the summer when I have the most time on my hands! We'll October is weather for having a day outside to Geocach!

Geocaching is an outdoor recreational activity, in which participants use their GPS on their mobile device to hide and seek containers, called "geocaches" or "caches", at specific locations marked by coordinates all over the world.



Basically, it's a real-world treasure hunt. BUT you never know what you'll find! This family night is perfect for families with older kids who want to get out and about exploring! Sometimes, when you find your "cache" you'll just write your name on a list other times there are tiny treasured left by the person before you!


Here's a little introduction for those of us who have never "Geocached" before:

Taking part in this treasure hunt is super easy! At its most basic level (my level!), geocaching requires these 8 steps:

  1. Register- it's free! (click here)

  2. Visit the "Hide & Seek a Cache" page.

  3. Enter your postal code and click "search."

  4. Choose any geocache from the list and click on its name.

  5. Enter the coordinates of the geocache into your GPS Device.

  6. Use your GPS device to assist you in finding the hidden geocache.

  7. Sign the logbook and return the geocache to its original location.

  8. Share your geocaching stories and photos online.


When I searched Stony Point's address it brought up the "caches" closest to church. Here's what I found:



When I click on one near highway 32, it gave me details about that particular cache. It showed me the size of container I was looking for, how difficult the terrain was to walk, and even showed that this was a good "beginner" cache to find! If you participate and find it, there's even a "Log Visit" button where you can go and log that you've found it!

Check it out:





Have fun!






















bottom of page